When choosing what type of food to have at your catered event, it is important to consider the dietary restrictions of your guests. This is especially important if you are catering a corporate event. No one wants to have to skip their lunch break to sit in a catered meeting, only to find they cannot eat the food provided! 

Whether you are looking for wedding catering or corporate catering, it’s always a nice gesture for your guests to provide a few options that will meet the needs of most people. For wedding catering, you can include a section on the RSVP for meal choices or dietary restrictions, and if you are catering a corporate event, you can send out a survey to your employees before ordering a meal. 

If it sounds too complicated to meet the needs of everyone, don’t worry. As long as you choose an understanding catering company that truly cares about their clients, you’ll be fine. At FiftyThree Catering, your event and wedding caterers in Utah, we source all of our food fresh and locally, and we love customizing our menu for your needs. That means if you have anything you need to avoid, just let us know! In the meantime, keep reading to learn about some common allergies and restrictions that might come up. 

Common Food Allergies, Intolerances, and Diets

Nuts

Nut allergies are the most common type of food allergy and can be specific to peanuts or can include tree nuts and/or seeds. Allergic reactions to nuts can range from mild to life-threatening. Some people with severe peanut allergies can even have a life-threatening reaction from just being in the vicinity of peanuts. Some common nut-containing foods are nut butters, pesto, chilis and soups, energy bars, veggie burgers, and even honey, as some honey is made by bees who pollinate some nut species. 

Shellfish

While some allergic reactions are hardly noticeable, most shellfish allergies tend to be more severe and can even be life-threatening. Some people are allergic to crustaceans (shrimp, crab, crawfish, lobster), while others are allergic to mollusks (clams, oysters, squid, mussels). The unlucky ones are allergic to both types of shellfish! 

Gluten

Some people are gluten-free by choice, while others experience an allergy to the gluten protein resulting in celiac disease. Gluten reactions can range from a mildly upset stomach to a trip to the hospital. Gluten is most often associated with flour products like bread and cookies, but can also be found in soy sauce, beer, ice cream, imitation crab meat, hot dogs, and some ice cream. 

Soy

Soy allergies are common in childhood and many people outgrow them. However, adults can still experience mild or severe allergic reactions to soy. You likely know about some common foods that contain soy, such as soy sauce, edamame (soybeans), and tofu (curdled soy milk). However, soy is incredibly common in processed foods ranging from crackers and cookies to peanut butter to canned soup. 

Vegan

Veganism is the strictest form of a plant-based diet. While many vegetarians will still consume animal products such as eggs, butter, and milk, vegans do not consume any products that come from animals. If you will be serving vegan guests at your event, let us know and we might be able to swap out some common ingredients for vegan alternatives!

Religious Dietary Restrictions

Islam

Muslims often follow a halal diet which includes animal products that are prepared under specific conditions. Haram, or forbidden, foods include pork and pig byproducts, such as gelatin and lard. If you will be having Muslim friends or family at your event, let us know and we can source our meat for that meal from a halal source. 

Judaism

Jewish dietary laws are called kashrut, and include foods that are considered kosher. Many Jews do not eat pork products, but can typically consume beef, lamb, goat, and venison. Some unexpected non-kosher foods include shellfish and gelatin products. If you’ll be serving Jewish friends or family at your event, consider avoiding pork products. 

Hinduism

Many Hindus eat a vegetarian diet in order to reduce the amount of hurt they cause to living animals. However, some Hindus do regularly eat eggs, fish, and certain types of meat that are prepared in acceptable ways. When catering an event with Hindu friends and family, consider offering a vegetarian option. 

Christianity

Most Christians do not have specific religious dietary restrictions. However, some Catholics will refrain from eating meat, excluding fish, on Fridays during Lent — the next of which lasts from February 26-April 9, 2020. If you are throwing an event with Catholic friends during Lent and it is on a Friday, consider opting for a fish-based catering meal.

Choose Catering That Everyone Will Love!

When deciding on a caterer in Utah, make sure to choose one that will offer you a truly customizable experience. Some event and wedding caterers have strict menus and recipes and are not able to make changes. At FiftyThree Catering, we like to do things differently.

Our food is made from the heart, meaning we’re understanding of allergies, religious restrictions, and preferences. If you are looking for something special for your event, need to avoid a certain ingredient, or want your food to come from a special source, just let us know and we will do our best to meet your needs. 

Get in touch with our Utah catering services today to inquire about food options for your upcoming wedding, corporate event, or party. We’d love to be a part of your big day!